The Mom Whisperer 

How to be that mom, who can get out the door, in 30 minutes and remember everything. Impossible! I hear you cry. 

I know, seems pretty daunting, as I am the mom, who can take up to two hours to leave the house some days. But I certainly can be that mom, when I have this action plan in play.

I have three kids, my youngest is 7 months whilst the eldest is 6 years and it used to take me 2 hours, when I just had the one child, especially at newborn stage. 

Sometimes it took me so much effort to get out the house that I just didn’t feel like going out anymore! Which made me more stressed, I felt closed in, isolated and burdened.

I realised that I needed to come up with a way to getting ready faster, as just thinking about going out any where, was stress inducin! 

Now I get ready like a pro, I don’t bat an eyelid, when I have to go for a spontaneous 2 day road trip with kids!

So here it is the sure fire way to get out the door in 30 minutes flat.

  1. Have a routine. This helps enormously, it allows you and your kids to be in auto mode and avoid zombie mode especially in the mornings. Get kids to get ready by themselves, my elder two can pretty much get dressed and ready so all I do is their hair and pour out the go-to breakfast in a rush, cereal.
  2. Preparation is the key. Have things in your bag ready to go the night before. Start getting things ready once the kids are in bed, so less chance of distractions and a list in hand you’ll be ready in no time. Your handbag should be ready with wallet, phone, keys, passes and change. Have kids lunches and bags packed and baby’s nappy bag with all essentials ready at the door waiting to be picked up as you leave. If we’re walking then I even have everything on the baby stroller, so its just a matter of placing baby in their seat and off we go!
  3. Choose clothes the night before. Lay them out easily visible the night before, for you and the kids, along with socks and shoes, so there are no morning dashing around looking for orphan socks. Have baby bottles sterilised and ready to be filled at the last moment, just before leaving the house.
  4. Be Smart. Those with babies know that they are the longest to get ready because of their unpredictability, so I get my youngest ready last, less chances of several nappy/outfit changes. I feed him just before leaving so he can go longest without requiring a top up on milk.
  5. Have a bag of snacks ready to go. If kids do not cooperate and eat breakfast in a hurry, you have juices, water and snacks at hand to counteract any tantrums. I always pack lollipops, they are as essential in an emergency, as a band aid.

Those are my little tips for a smooth and quick take off in the morning. Share yours in the comments below, remember sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

